It's Beer:30 in Durango: Schnell, Irmiger Get Tats

  • By
  • Published Sep. 19, 2009
  • Updated Oct. 11, 2012 at 5:02 PM EDT

By Frank Mapel

By the time you read this, many beers will have been consumed in Durango, Colorado at the Singlespeed World Championships. Many stories — some true, some not so — will be told and more beer consumed. And by the time you read this, Ross Schnell and Heather Irmiger will be marked for life as winners of the 2009 SSWC. You can relive the excitement, the fun, the fury in the slideshow below.

1. Ross Schnell
2. Matt Shriver
3. Carl Decker
4. Ned Overend

1. Heather Irmiger
2. Shonny Vanlandingham
3. Kelli Emmit

The technical singletrack course was graced with a sunny day and assaulted by just under 1,000 entrants. Travis Brown was leading but crashed hard. He’s okay, but he did not finish. Danny Pate led the first climb out of town in a penguin get-up.

FILED UNDER: MTB / Race Results TAGS: / /

Stay updated on all things VeloNews

Subscribe to the FREE VeloNews newsletter