Nys wins 50th Superprestige

  • By
  • Published Nov. 30, 2009
  • Updated Dec. 1, 2009 at 1:25 PM EDT

Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet-Colnago) won his 50th Superprestige event on Sunday in Gieten, the Netherlands.

The Belgian champion won in 59:15, 27 seconds ahead of runner-up Kevin Pauwels (Fidea-Telenet) with world champion Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) third at 1:02.

Sven Vantournhout and Gerben De Knegt led the race in the first lap until Nys capitalized on a bobble by De Knegt, taking a lead he would never relinquish. Albert stuck with him for a while but then fell off the pace, eventually conceding second place to Pauwels as Nys drove on ahead.

The last lap was something of a parade lap for Nys, who grabbed a trophy bearing the number 50 from a spectator in the final meters.

Nys now leads the Superprestige series with 71 points. Albert is second with 69, while Zdenek Stybar (Telenet-Fidea), who finished fourth on the day, is third with 67.

American Jonathan Page (Planet Bike) finished 15th.


FILED UNDER: Cyclocross / News / Race Report TAGS: / /

Stay updated on all things VeloNews

Subscribe to the FREE VeloNews newsletter