Millar takes final stage and overall at De Panne

  • By
  • Published Apr. 1, 2010
  • Updated Aug. 15, 2010 at 7:46 PM EDT

Millar nailed the TT and the overall on the final stage. | Graham Watson photo

Garmin-Transitions’ David Millar won the overall title of the Three Days of De Panne after winning the final time trial, a 14km race against the clock between Koksijde and De Panne on Thursday.

Millar defeated Vacansoleil’s Lieuwe Westra by five seconds and teammate Svein Tuft by 24.

The time trial was the second stage of the day, with the first won by Millar’s teammate Tyler Farrar.

Millar finished the three-day, four-stage event 35 seconds ahead of Ukrainian Andrei Grivko (Astana) and 1:07 ahead of Acqua e Sapone’s Luca Paolini.

Stage 3b
1. David Millar (GB) Garmin-Transitions
2. Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team, at 0:05
3. Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin-Transitions, at 0:24
4. Bert Grabsch (Ger) HTC-Columbia, at 0:30
5. Dominique Cornu (Bel) Skil-Shimano, at 0:34
6. Hayden Roulston (Nzl) HTC-Columbia, at 0:35
7. Eric Berthou (Fra) Carmiooro-A Style, at 0:42
8. Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana, at 0:47
9. Stijn Devolder (Bel) Quick Step, at 0:49
10. Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator, at 0:52

Final overall standings
1. David Millar (GB) Garmin-Transitions
2. Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana, at 0:35
3. Luca Paolini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone-Caffe Mokambo, at 1:07
4. Frédéric Amorison (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago, at 1:25
5. Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team, at 2:16
6. Jens Mouris (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team, at 2:26
7. Hayden Roulston (Nzl) HTC-Columbia, at 2:44
8. Sébastien Turgot (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Telecom, at 2:45
9. Nikolay Trusov (Rus) Team Katusha, at 2:58
10. Manuel Quinziato (Ita) Liquigas Doimo, at 2:59

FILED UNDER: News / Race Report / Road TAGS:

Stay updated on all things VeloNews

Subscribe to the FREE VeloNews newsletter