Teutenberg wins Giro Donne stage 1

  • By Caley Fretz
  • Published Jul. 2, 2010
  • Updated Aug. 15, 2010 at 9:33 PM EDT

2010 Giro Donne, stage 1. Ina Yoko Teutenberg wins

Ina Teutenberg (HTC-Columbia) won the first stage of the Giro Donne ahead of Giorgia Bronzini (Gause RDZ Ormu) and Kirsten Wild (Cérvelo), taking the race’s first leader’s jersey. The 58km stage, which culminated with three fast finishing circuits inTriest, ended in a bunch sprint.

“It’s always great to start with a victory,” said HTC-Columbia director Ronny Lauke. “It was a short first stage, and the team is very motivated for success. We were seeking a fast pace and Ina was on top of it. She won by a bike length. Everyone is very positive and confident that we will have a successful Tour.”

Teutenberg’s win was the sprinter’s 17th victory of the 2010 season.

“Last year I won one stage here at the Giro Donne, and I feel really positive about surpassing that here this year,” Teutenberg said. “I’m really motivated to defend the lead tomorrow.”

Saturday’s stage should see a similar finish, with a finish circuit in Riese Pio X that will lend itself to the sprinters.

2010 Giro Donne, stage 1. Ina Yoko Teutenberg podium

The U.S. national team has a squad in Italy, including last year’s runner up and recently crowned U.S. national champion Mara Abbott. Abbott and Amber Neben will co-lead the U.S. team.

Complete Results

Quick Results

  • 1. Ina Teutenberg (HTC-Columbia)
  • 2. Giorgia Bronzini (Gause RDZ Ormu)
  • 3. Kirsten Wild (Cérvelo TestTeam)

FILED UNDER: News / No Spoil / Race Report / Road TAGS: /

Caley Fretz

Caley Fretz

Senior Editor Caley Fretz can be found chasing races along the backroads of Europe or testing bikes and gear in the mountains outside Boulder, Colorado. If you can't find him there, check the coffee shop across from VN World Headquarters.

Stay updated on all things VeloNews

Subscribe to the FREE VeloNews newsletter