Trebon, Driscoll and Page join Johnson and Powers on U.S. men’s cyclocross team

  • By Brian Holcombe
  • Published Jan. 14, 2011
  • Updated Jan. 29, 2011 at 12:00 PM EDT

The stage in St. Wendel is set for the Americans as USA Cycling announced the elite men’s roster for the 2011 world cyclocross championships Friday. As expected, Jeremy Powers and Tim Johnson ( led the nominations as the only automatic qualifiers accepting their invitations, while Jonathan Page (Planet Bike-Blue) and Ryan Trebon (Kona-FSA) and Powers’ and Johnson’s teammate, Jamey Driscoll, rounded out the nominations as discretionary selections.

Top automatic qualifier Todd Wells (Specialized) declined his invitation as the national champion in order to begin his prep for the mountain bike season. With Wells sitting out worlds, Powers was the top auto qualifier, by way of his position as the top American in this week’s UCI cyclocross rankings (12th). Powers also qualified based on his points accrual at North American C1 events this season, while Johnson secured the second automatic spot with his 15th position in the UCI ranking.

UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships
St. Wendel, Germany
January 29-30, 2011

Elite Men’s Roster:
Jeremy Powers (Easthampton, Mass./
Tim Johnson (Topsfield, Mass./
Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore.)
Jamey Driscoll (Winooski, Vt.)
Jonathan Page (Northfield, NH)

FILED UNDER: News TAGS: / / / / /

Brian Holcombe

Brian Holcombe

Brian Holcombe is the editor of Holcombe joined VeloNews in 2009 following years spent introducing students to whitewater kayaking and working in avalanche control, among other more risky ventures. A Master of PR and Marketing Communications, his graduate work at the University of Denver focused on innovation, digital media management and custom publishing. Holcombe is a CSU Ram fan and proud parent, and has been accused of attacking too much on the VN lunch ride. Follow him on Twitter @FCBrian.

Stay updated on all things VeloNews

Subscribe to the FREE VeloNews newsletter