Edvald Boasson Hagen wins final stage, overall at 2011 Eneco Tour

  • By
  • Published Aug. 14, 2011
  • Updated Aug. 14, 2011 at 1:41 PM EDT

Edvald Boasson Hagen takes the final stage and the overall at the Eneco Tour..

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) doubled up on Sunday, winning the final stage and the overall at the Eneco Tour.

Boasson Hagen won the final 201.2km stage around Sittard-Geleen in 4:29:42, out-sprinting Manuel Antonio Leal Cardoso (Team RadioShack) and Lars Boom (Rabobank).

In the overall he took the victory by 23 seconds ahead of Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto) and 29 seconds over David Millar (Garmin-Cervélo).

American Taylor Phinney (BMC Racing Team) just missed the podium, slotting into fourth at 36 seconds.

Boasson Hagen’s teammates worked hard in the final kilometers of the stage, upping the pace to prevent an attack from Gilbert, who hoped to win the tour and displace Tour de France champion Cadel Evans (BMC) from atop the world rankings.

“Everything went perfectly: the team did what it had to protect my overall lead,” Boasson Hagen told Agence France Presse.

Quick results
Stage 6

  • 1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor), Team Sky, 4:29:42
  • 2. Manuel Antonio Leal Cardoso (Por), Team Radioshack, at 0:01
  • 3. Lars Boom (Ned), Rabobank Cycling Team, same time
  • 4. Grega Bole (Slo), Lampre-ISD, s.t.
  • 5. Damiano Caruso (Ita), Liquigas-Cannondale, s.t.

Final GC

  • 1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor), Team Sky, 22:30:58
  • 2. Philippe Gilbert (Bel), Omega Pharma-Lotto, at 0:23
  • 3. David Millar (Gbr), Garmin-Cervelo, at 0:29
  • 4. Taylor Phinney ,(USA), BMC Racing Team, at 0:36
  • 5. Jos Van Emden (Ned), Rabobank Cycling Team, at 0:58

Complete results

FILED UNDER: News / Race Report / Road TAGS: /

Stay updated on all things VeloNews

Subscribe to the FREE VeloNews newsletter