NUE Series points forfeited during winner's suspension at Breck 100

  • By Ryan O'Dell
  • Published Jul. 19, 2012
  • Updated Oct. 11, 2012 at 4:41 PM EDT
Tim Lutz. Photo: Annette Hayden

Chambers kills it, Pflug style

With the defending NUE Series Champion, Gerry Pflug (Salsa Cycles/NoTubes/Top Gear) sitting it out this year following his impressive win last year, former 24 Hour national champion, Cameron Chambers (Carmichael Training) from Colorado Springs picked up the slack putting an hour on the entire SS field and finishing third overall among all contenders in 8:31:47.

It was back in 2003 when Chambers became the under-25 24 hour mountain bike world champion and in 2005 he earned the honor of becoming the elite 24 hour mountain bike national champion. With this big win under his belt, is Chambers planning to make a run at the NUE Series title?

Second place went to AJ Linnell (Fitzgerald’s Bicycle) of Victor, ID, the only other singlespeed racer to crack the sub ten hour mark at 9:38:22. The third podium spot went to Rob Lockey (OES/Bike Source) of Indian Hills 10:15:34 followed closely by Jody Elovitz of Parker just three minutes later at 10:18:40. The final racer to keep it under eleven was Anthony Mannina (RockyMounts/Izze) of Boulder in 10:40:02.

« Previous Next »

FILED UNDER: Endurance / MTB / News / NUE Series TAGS: /

Stay updated on all things VeloNews

Subscribe to the FREE VeloNews newsletter