Abbott, Gaimon win San Dimas 2013 time trial stage

  • By
  • Published Mar. 22, 2013
  • Updated Mar. 22, 2013 at 9:32 PM EDT

Mara Abbott (Exergy Twenty16) marked her return to racing on Friday with a time trial win in stage 1 of the San Dimas Stage Race. The 2010 Giro Donne winner topped second-place Amber Neben (The Dare To Be Project) by 17 seconds. Taylor Wiles (Specialized-lululemon) was third in the women’s race, at 33 seconds.

Phil Gaimon (Bissell) won the men’s opener over Janier Acevedo (Jamis-Hagens Berman), who finished 16 seconds outside the defending San Dimas champion’s time. Matthew Cooke (Champion System-Stan’s NoTubes) was third, at 22 seconds.

The The three-stage event continues Saturday.

FILED UNDER: News / Race Report / Road / Women TAGS: /

Stay updated on all things VeloNews

Subscribe to the FREE VeloNews newsletter