Alban Lakata, Sally Bigham win 20th Leadville Trail 100 MTB

  • By
  • Published Aug. 10, 2013
  • Updated Nov. 5, 2013 at 5:19 PM EDT

The 20th annual Leadville Trail 100 MTB on Saturday proved to be a record-breaking affair.

Alban Lakata (Topeak-Ergon) defended his 2012 title in the men’s race, hitting the line in six hours, four minutes and one second.

Despite tacky trails and a brutal headwind on the road for the return trip, Lakata shattered the previous best time of 6:16:37, set in 2010 by Levi Leipheimer.

Last year’s runner-up,  world marathon champion Christoph Sauser (Specialized), finished second once again, in 6:05:07, 1:06 off the winning time. Todd Wells (Specialized) rounded out the podium in third in 6:18:47.

In the women’s race, Sally Bigham (Topeak-Ergon) took the victory in 7:17:01, likewise destroying the mark of 7:28:06 set in 2012 by four-time champ Rebecca Rusch. It was a vindication of sorts for Bigham, who finished second to Rusch last year after being one of a number of riders briefly misdirected off the course.

Recently crowned national criterium champion Alison Powers (Herbalife24-NOW) finished second in 7:21:57, with Rusch (Specialized) third at 7:35:27.




FILED UNDER: Cross Country / Mountain / MTB / News / Race Report TAGS: / /

Stay updated on all things VeloNews

Subscribe to the FREE VeloNews newsletter