Tour Down Under drawing quality field for 2016 season kickoff

  • By Andrew Hood
  • Published Dec. 9, 2015
Rohan Dennis won the 2015 Santos Tour Down Under. Photo: Tim De Waele |

The 2016 WorldTour season kickoff is barely a month away, and teams are confirming their top riders for the Santos Tour Down Under.

Sticking to tradition, most of the top Australian riders are marking what will be the 18th edition of the week-long stage race on their respective calendars, scheduled for January 19-24.

Topping the list will be defending champion Rohan Dennis and Richie Porte, the latter who will make his debut with BMC Racing. Michael Rogers (Tinkoff), Mark Renshaw and Cameron Meyer (Dimension Data), David Tanner (IAM Cycling), and Rory Sutherland (Movistar) are other Aussies expected to line up in Adelaide for the WorldTour calendar debut.

Orica-GreenEdge brings its A team, with three-time winner Simon Gerrans, sprinter Caleb Ewan, stage-hunters Michael Albasini and Daryl Impey, as well as Mat Hayman, Michael Hepburn, and Luke Durbridge.

Other likely starters include Domenico Pozzovivo (Ag2r La Mondiale), Diego Ulissi and Louis Meintjes (Lampre-Merida), Greg Henderson (Lotto Soudal), and Simon Clarke and Wouter Wippert (Cannondale).

Luis León Sánchez, the overall winner from 2005, will headline Astana, which also brings Lars Boom and Lieuwe Westra.

Ryder Hesjedal, Kiel Reijnen, and Peter Stetina are expected to make their debuts in Trek Factory Racing colors, with Rein Taaramae and Tiago Machado lining up for Katusha.

Last year, Cadel Evans raced to third overall behind Dennis and Porte in what was his final stage race.

18th Santos Tour Down Under (January 19-24)

Stage 1: Prospect to Lyndoch, 130.8km
Stage 2: Linley to Stirling, 132km
Stage 3: Glenelg to Campbelltown, 139km
Stage 4: Norwood to Victor Harbor, 138km
Stage 5: McLaren Vale to Willunga Hill, 151.5km
Stage 6: Adelaide, 90km

FILED UNDER: News / Road TAGS: / /

Andrew Hood

Andrew Hood

Andrew Hood cut his journalistic teeth at Colorado dailies before the web boom opened the door to European cycling in the mid-1990s. Hood has covered every Tour de France since 1996 and has been VeloNews' European correspondent since 2002.

Stay updated on all things VeloNews

Subscribe to the FREE VeloNews newsletter