1. Home » News » Road » Geschke implies Bouhanni took push on Ruta climb before winning

Geschke implies Bouhanni took push on Ruta climb before winning

Frenchman Nacer Bouhanni celebrated his first victory of 2016 Thursday, but some in the Ruta del Sol peloton were less enthused by the Cofidis rider’s stage 2 win.

Giant – Alpecin’s Simon Geschke expressed his frustration on Twitter, implying that Bouhanni was only able to rejoin the race after being pushed up the six-kilometer, category 3 Alto de Trassierra climb, which came late in the 186.3km day.

Though Geschke didn’t name the Cofidis rider, his claims were confirmed by another rider in the peloton, riding for a different team, who characterized the push Bouhanni took as “blatant.” The German’s complaints seem to be purely made on principle, as Giant – Alpecin did not have a sprinter in the mix at the finale — Geschke was the team’s top rider, finishing 19th.

If giving your teammate a helping hand up a hill sounds innocuous, it isn’t — UCI rule 2.3.012 states: “The pushing of one rider by another shall in all cases be forbidden, on pain of disqualification.”