Paris-Roubaix invites seven wildcard teams for 2016

  • By
  • Published Feb. 22, 2016
In 2015, the peloton made the right turn onto sector 25 (Quievy), which at 3.7km in length is one of the most popular spectator spots on course. Photo: Jim Fryer | BrakeThrough Media |

Paris-Roubaix organizers announced wildcard invitations Monday for the 2016 monument race, which takes place April 10. The line-up includes four French, two Belgian, and one German team, all UCI Pro Continental squads.

French organizer ASO picked Cofidis, Delko – Marseille, Direct Energie, and Fortuneo – Vital Concept — all French — as well as Topsport Vlaanderen and Wanty — Groupe Gobert from Belgium. German team Bora — Argon 18 also got the nod for the 257.5km cobbled classic race, which Giant — Alpecin’s John Degenkolb won last year.

In addition to the seven wildcards, cycling’s 18 WorldTour teams will also race, thanks to automatic invitations.

2016 Paris-Roubaix wildcard invitations

Bora — Argon 18 (G)
Cofidis (F)
Delko – Marseille (F)
Direct Energie (F)
Fortuneo – Vital Concept (F)
Topsport Vlaanderen (B)
Wanty — Groupe Gobert (B)


Stay updated on all things VeloNews

Subscribe to the FREE VeloNews newsletter